Two Conferences in Two Weeks! IEEE Systems, Man & Cybernetics and Grace Hopper Celebration

Despite my love for Seattle, this October treats me to not one but two conferences! Last week I had the pleasure of attending IEEE Systems, Man and Cybernetics in Budapest, Hungary (pictures below, obviously). I was presenting my paper titled “Demonstration of a Stable, Chronic Brain-Computer Interface Using a Deep Brain Stimulator.” In addition, I served as a representative for IEEE’s Society for Social Implications of Technology (SSIT) at the IEEE Brain Initiative Meeting, and as co-chair for two sessions at the BMI Workshop. I saw a lot of cool research and got to learn all about the IEEE standards development process during the BMI Standards Workshop on 10/9. For a conference I had never attended, the community was incredibly welcoming and I really hope I can be involved for 2017. Lastly, I can’t forget to recognize my many sources of travel funding: IEEE Brain Initiative Student Travel Grant, IEEE SMC’s Student Travel Grant, and CSNE Student Leadership Committee’s Travel Grant. I live by your support!

img_20161007_160819

This week I’m back in the US to attend Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing 2016 in Houston, Texas. After attending last year I had a better idea of what to expect, but I’m no less excited to be surrounded by nearly 15,000 talented women in CSE and related fields. Today’s keynote by Dr. Latanya Sweeney from Harvard was an inspiring blend of ethics, policy and CSE, and later I attended a great session about interrupting bias in my daily life.

I’m also thrilled to have the opportunity to present my workshop for students, “Talking About Your Best Self: Speaking Highly of Your Own Work and Accomplishments,” which I developed with my collaborator Harini Gunabalan. I had a really positive response when I piloted the workshop with my own department, and the prospect of sharing my ideas with up to 60 young women is really incredible. More credit is due to my travel funding for getting me here: the UW EE department is so supportive of their women attending GHC every year, and additionally the Graduate & Professional Student Senate at UW.

The rest of the conference is sure to be a blast–those who didn’t manage to get a ticket can tune in to the live stream here!

Leave a Reply

